Chocolate Caramel Slice

Caramel slice

I’ve never made Caramel Slice before, even though it’s something I will always, always reach for if offered.  I’ve always been a little freaked out about the caramel part, despite caramel being perhaps one of my favourite flavours.

After making Salted Caramel Cupcakes recently and using a ready-made caramel for the filling, I had some left over and knew I wanted to try and use it up somehow.

Unfortunately no recipe I found used this particular product, all instead calling for condensed milk.  And so, I tailor-made my own Chocolate Caramel Slice.

It’s rich, oh so rich, and buttery and delicious.

Chocolate Caramel Slice
Ingredients
Base
1 C flour
1/2 C brown sugar
1/2 C dessicated coconut
125g butter, melted
Filling
300g Highlander Caramel
2 T golden syrup
50g butter
Topping
50g kremelta
100g dark chocolate, finely chopped

Directions
Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.  Line a square cake or small rectangle lamington tin with baking paper.
Combine all the base ingredients in a bowl and mix well.   Press into the tin evenly.  Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden.   Remove from oven.  Cool.
Combine all filling ingredients in a saucepan over medium heat.  Cook, whisking for approximately 5 minutes until combined & smooth.  Pour over the cooked base.  Bake for 12 minutes until firm and texture is slightly cracked.  Cool completely.  Refrigerate 3-4 hours or until set.
Make the topping – combine the kremelta & finely chopped chocolate in a small pot.  Stir until melted and mixed together.
Pour over the caramel.  Return to the fridge until set and cut into squares.
Try not to devour the entire tin in one sitting!

Adapted from: Taste.com.au

I love reading your comments, so please leave me a message if you care to.