Vegetarian Enchiladas

20130227-081402.jpg

I don’t know about you but every trip to the grocery store (even for just ‘a couple of things’ I forgot the time before) ends up in another $100+ bill. The cost of food is just astronomical these days.

For that reason, and for the other common one where I often forget to take something out of the freezer in time for dinner prep**, I am always keen to find more delicious vegetarian options for my family to enjoy.

This evening I rummaged in the cupboard and came up with this super easy, very tasty and pretty healthy dinner. You can adapt entirely to fit with what you’ve got on hand and can make with or without a meat or chicken component.

The kids loved it, Little Man asked for seconds and even my meat-loving husband enjoyed a hearty serving.

Vegetarian Enchiladas
Ingredients
1 packet of tortillas (I used 6 regular size)
1 T oil
1 onion – diced
1 large clove garlic – crushed or chopped finely
1 x 400 gram tin Brown Lentils (drained & rinsed)
1 x 400 gram tin Cannellini Beans (drained & rinsed)
1 x 400 gram crushed tomatoes – halved
2 T tomato paste
1/4 – 1/2 water
1/2 t ground cumin
1/2 t ground coriander
1/2 t garlic powder
1/2 – 1 C grated cheese
Salt & pepper to taste

In a large fry pan, heat oil over medium heat. Add onion & garlic and sauté until soft.
Add spices and cook an additional minute until fragrant.
Add the lentils & cannellini beans and stir until heated through. Add half the tin of crushed tomatoes and tomato paste. Mix to combine, adding a little water as required to thin.
Remove from the heat and set aside.
Lightly oil an oven proof dish – one that will fit the enchiladas snuggly.
Taking one tortilla at a time, fill with 1/6
of the bean mixture, roll into a cigar shaped length and place into the dish. Repeat until the tortillas are all filled & snuggly fitted into the dish.
Top with the remaining half tin of crushed tomatoes and cover generously with grated cheese.

Bake in 180 degree oven until cheese is golden.

Serve with salad, or sour cream & salsa.

** this is especially problematic because I don’t have a microwave, so if I don’t remove something from the freezer the night before, we really are eating vegetarian for dinner! 

Bon Appetit

I love reading your comments, so please leave me a message if you care to.