Best Chocolate Cake Ever – Take 2

I know you’re wondering how there can be TWO Best Ever Chocolate Cakes – well… there just is!

You can find the first here.   This second was one I was given by an old friends mother.  Whilst visiting her a few years back she whipped up this incredible cake and I just had to have the recipe.  Like you know, I don’t love Chocolate Cake but this was tres magnifique!  I’ve passed it on to lots of friends since and it’s always a winner. 

It has coffee in it so think about that when making for someone who is pregnant or small children.

This recipe is also great because you don’t need to cream butter and sugar.  As someone who doesn’t have a microwave and has to cream the old fashioned way, I always find this cake a breeze if I’ve forgotten to take butter out in preparation of a baking frenzy.  The instructions mention the use of a food processor, but I’ve always made this cake in a bowl with a good old wooden spoon.



Better yet, I LOVE the name of this cake:


Sultry Dark Chocolate Cake


3/4 C strong black coffee (cooled)

1.5 C self raising flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp vanilla essence
2 large eggs (at room temperature)
1.5C sugar
1/2 C cocoa
125g butter
3/4 C plain unsweetened yoghurt (I’ve used any flavour I have on hand including passionfruit, coconut etc so just use whatever)
Make coffee ahead and let it cool.  Put flour, sugar, cocoa and baking soda into a bowl or food processor. Mix to combine.  Melt butter, add vanilla, coffee and yoghurt. 
Break eggs into the dry ingredients, add liquids and mix or pulse in processor until mixed. 
Turn into tin (I use an 8-9 inch round or 20cm square tin), greased and lined with baking paper.
Bake at 160 degrees Celsius for 40-45 minutes.  Cool in tin for 15 minutes before turning onto a rack to cool completely.

Enjoy!

I love reading your comments, so please leave me a message if you care to.