Christmas Cake Recipe

I just noticed I haven’t posted since July – WOW!  Where has this year gone?


Anyway, this is a quick post for those of you who wanted my Christmas Cake recipe.  It’s super easy and I got it from someone a few years back when my brother bought a cake to a family gathering and he managed to track down the recipe from the maker’s mother or something.  I mean to say – it’s been passed on because it’s a delicious cake, not just some recipe I found in a magazine.


Ingredients:


1.2kg fruit mix
2 C brown sugar
2 C water
250g butter
1 tsp mixed spice
1 tsp baking soda
1 T golden syrup
3 eggs
2 T Sherry (I used Brandy as it was all I had)
1 tsp each lemon, almond & vanilla essences
3 C flour
1/2 t salt
2 tsp baking powder


Method:


Combine fruit, water, sugar, butter, spice, baking soda and syrup in a pot.  Bring to boil and simmer covered for 10 minutes.  Cool, stirring occasionally.


When cool, add well beaten eggs, sherry and essences.  Mix well.


Fold in sifted flour, baking powder and salt.


Bake in double lined 23cm tin.  Press cherries, walnuts, almonds etc on top of batter if desired (I skip this bit)


Bake at 160 degrees (celsius) for 2-2.5 hours until cooked, cover the top with baking paper if it starts to brown too much.


I let it sit in a tin for a couple of weeks prior to Christmas to let it moisten up.


Merry Christmas.

I love reading your comments, so please leave me a message if you care to.